First UCF MFA Reading of the Year

13882171_1412497288766463_5061163718229018622_n

This summer was an absolute whirlwind, and I imagine you must feel the same way. As I mourn the passing of August and contemplate the fact that there are no more semesters for me to look forward to anymore (unless I suck it up and go for the PhD), I was overjoyed to be invited to read at UCF’s first PARCELS reading of the academic year. This will be the third premier PARCELS reading that I’ve been a part of and I am so glad to share the few poems I wrote this summer with UCF’s current creative writing students, alumni, and faculty. The reading series will no longer be held at Stardust Video & Coffee but will, instead, take place at Blue Bamboo Center for the Arts in Winter Park from about 7:30 until 9 p.m. this coming Sunday (9/11/2016). There will be a total of four readers sharing new works in fiction, literary nonfiction, and/or poetry. I look forward to seeing some new and familiar faces!

If you or someone you know might be interested to learn more about UCF and its MFA or Graduate programs, please feel free to visit them online or leave a comment below and I will be happy to answer any questions you may have or refer you to the best possible resource. The MFA program in Creative Writing offers concentrations in fiction, poetry, and literary nonfiction, and features a curriculum fueled by aesthetic values and focused on students’ original creative work. UCF’s faculty members are deeply committed to cultivating a diverse community of high-quality literary writers and preparing them for careers in writing, editing, teaching, and/or other creative endeavors. They prepared me, and I’ve found good fortune publishing my poems in this very competitive literary market while utilizing tools learned in the classroom in my marketing strategy career. The sky is the limit, and no one can stifle your creativity. Dare to discover your capabilities.

You can also follow the fun events and advice or topic articles consistently posted to the MFA program’s blog.

Leave a Reply

