Gallery

Our Proposal Story: featured on theknot.com

Josh and I drove from Florida to stay with his family in Ohio for Christmas. Before we even left for the trip, Josh asked me to brainstorm some places for us to stop at sunrise. I chose Newfound Gap for its scenic view. When we realized the road to Newfound Gap was closed for the winter even though there was no snow yet, we turned around and decided to take the Blue Ridge Parkway. There were plenty of overlooks for us to stop by, and the dog needed to be walked. The first overlook we came across was the Oconaluftee River Overlook in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, just outside of a small town named Cherokee. It was just after 8:00 a.m., and the sun started rising at 7:35. It was 19 °F. I got out of the car and ran to the trunk to put on longer socks. When I closed the trunk, Josh got out of the car. “Don’t get Huxley out of the car just yet,” he said. “Let’s just enjoy this.” He reached for my hand and pulled me over to the edge of the valley. The sun illuminated the summits around us. I snuggled up to him to stay warm and absorbed the view. After a moment of silence, Josh spoke: “You see that? You know, you are my sun. You breathe life into me every morning when we wake up, tangled and tired. I want to create with you.” He suddenly disappeared from my side. I turned and realized he’d bent down on one knee. “I want to combine our blood, make a family, and grow old with you.” He took a dark blue box from his right jacket pocket, coaxed it open with his thumb, and offered the most beautiful ring I had ever seen. “Will you marry me, Breezy?” he asked. I didn’t let him stay on his knee too long before tackling him and saying yes. After thirty minutes of hugging, kissing, and then running laps with Huxley around the overlook lot, we took a sunrise tour of the Great Smoky Mountains. We were the only car on the Blue Ridge Parkway that morning. We both held hands in silence, smiling, realizing one piece of our future was certain.

Our Proposal Story

Leave a Reply

